Working PDF-indexing on 64 bit Windows

I just noticed today, that my pdf documents are not being indexed on my Windows 7 x64 Pro installation. Having relied extensively on that feature when using Windows Vista, I needed to get this working. This is how I got it to work.

I went to «Indexing Options»–>Advanced–>»File types» only to see the message «Registered IFilter is not found» when highlighting the pdf-entry. This got me thinking, knowing that Adobe Reader is only shipped as a 32 bit application, that I might require a 64 bit IFilter plugin. And yes, in fact this is available as an additional download on Adobe’s homepage. You can get it here.

No clue why they don’t just ship it with the Adobe Reader package know that everyone goes 64 bit, but that’s their call …

Legg igjen en kommentar

