Strange kernel messages

The following is a snipped excerpt from dmesg. The relevant section in whole can be seen here.

exception Emask 0x2 SAct 0xc SErr 0x0 action 0x2 frozen
(spurious completions during NCQ issue=0x0 SAct=0xc FIS=005040a1:00000001)

I keep getting these strange kernel messages at boot up. If you know what they are, please tell me. If I have a disk that is just waiting to fail on me, I would like to know…

Ett svar til Strange kernel messages

  1. Carl-Erik sier:

    Found at they were caused by incomplete support for the SATA queue commands in my hard drive. A patch has been submitted to newer kernels which fixes the issue. Upgrading to for instance Hardy Heron (alpha 7) will fix it.

Legg igjen en kommentar

